Fergus wrestlers score win over Billings Central

Doreen Heintz
Sports Editor

Lose to powerful Havre, Laurel

The Fergus wrestling team completed the 2016 portion of the season with a 43-24 win over Billings Central on Tuesday. The Golden Eagles also dropped a close dual match to Laurel on Tuesday, 36-34. Thursday, the team traveled to Havre to take on the powerful Blue Ponies. Havre came out on top, 39-27.
In the win over Billings Central, Bridger Grover, Grady Gilpartick, Chase Farrar, Alex Wickens, Wyatt Blythe, Tanner Mannin,    Trayvn Nave and Caleb Birdwell all scored wins over their Ram opponents. Brady Boyce won by forfeit.
Against Laurel, Farrar, Wickens, Boyce, Birdwell and Grover scored victories over Locomotive opponents. The match was decided by forfeits. Fergus had to forfeit in three weight classes, while Laurel only had to forfeit one weight class. Fergus’s Elijah Greenberg was the winner by forfeit at 285 pounds.
In Havre on Thursday, Birdwell, Wickens, Blythe and Birdwell defeated their Blue Pony opponents, while Grover won his weight class by forfeit.
Following are all the results from the varsity matches against the three opponents.

Fergus 43, Billings Central 24
138: Grover won a 9-2 decision over Jacob Morgan.
145: Gilpatrick pinned Pete Saliouns, 1:25.
152: Farrar won an 11-2 decision over Noble Gunderson.
160: Wickens won a 7-2 decision over Jack Studer.
170: Blythe pinned Thomas Cooper, 0:14.
182: Billings Central’s Bob Hakert won by forfeit.
205: Boyce won by forfeit.
285: Greenberg was pinned by Mason Koberts, 1:14.
103: open for both teams
113: Billings Central’s Alex Devoyshire won by forfeit.
120: Mannin pinned Quinten Martinez, 0:51.
126: Nave won a 5-2 decision over Sean Comstock
132: Birdwell pinned Jose Rodriguez, 1:28.

Laurel 36, Fergus 34
145: Farrar won a 14-2 decision over R.J. Gill.
152: Kilpatrick was pinned by Mason Fend, 0:15.   
160: Wickens pinned Nick Verlanic, 5:12.
170: Blythe won a 6-4 decision over Cameron Younger.
182: Laurel’s Brett McBurney won by forfeit.
205: Boyce pinned Riley Sletten, 2:41.
285: Greenberg won by forfeit.
103: Laurel’s Ivan Lee won by forfeit.
113: Laurel’s Matthew Dewitt won by forfeit.
120: Mannin was pinned by Keagan Campbell, 1:27.
126: Nave was pinned by Payten Batalden, 0:25.
132: Birdwell pinned Matthew Glennon, 3:10.
138: Grover won a 7-0 decision over Kayne Johnson.

Havre 39, Fergus 27
103: Chance Miller was pinned by Quinn Reno, 0:59.
113: Havre’s Ryan Stewart won by forfeit.
120: Mannin was pinned by Lane Paulson, 2:56.
126: Nave was pinned by Martin Wilkie, 1:01.
132: Birdwell won a 6-1 decision over Connor Harris.
138: Grover won by forfeit.
145: Duane Otto was pinned by Parker Filius, 0:48.
152: Farrar lost a 4-3 decision to Mason Dionne
160: Wickens pinned Taylor Gopher, no time given.
170: open by both teams
182: Blythe pinned Jay  Caplette, no time given.
205: Havre’s Jase Stokes won by forfeit.
285: Boyce pinned Jared Sienkowski, no time given.



How much time do you spend using a computer or smart phone during a typical day?