Students in the News

Montana State University awarded 749 undergraduate degrees during MSU’s 2017 fall commencement ceremonies held Dec. 16 in Brick Breeden Fieldhouse, seven among them from Central Montana.

Dan Wenk, the superintendent of Yellowstone National Park, received an honorary doctorate in letters and delivered the charge to graduates at the ceremony.

Also during the ceremony, MSU President Waded Cruzado presented the President’s Medallion to the late Klein Gilhousen for his support of the university and its programs. The award was accepted by his widow, Karen. The medallion is presented to those who have made significant contributions to the educational, cultural, economic, scientific and social advancement of MSU and the region.

Students with two asterisks after their name (**) graduated with highest honors. To graduate with highest honors, undergraduate students must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.70. Undergraduate students graduating with honors have a single asterisk (*) after their name. To qualify for graduation with honors, students must possess a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 to 3.69.

A list of the Montana graduates follows by hometown.

Buffalo: Sarah Spear*; Hobson: Taylor Aune**; Lewistown: Elizabeth Pennell**, Danielle Phillips*, Lauren Wepprecht*; Moore: Anthony Hofer; and Stanford: Kelsey Jacobi*.



When do you think the snow will finally be melted in Lewistown?