Twelve scholarships awarded to area students during Mid-Rivers’ annual meeting

Mid-Rivers Telephone Cooperative, Inc. members gathered in the Lambert Public School Gymnasium in Lambert on Thursday, June 2 for the 2016 Meeting of the Members. Items of business included electing three members to the cooperative’s board of trustees, informing members of the cooperative’s financial performance and future plans, and awarding 12 scholarships to area students. Trustees Gene Engen (District 4), Dave Rice (District 5) and Craig Johnson (District 6) were re-elected to three-year terms to the Mid-Rivers Board of Trustees.
Mid-Rivers’ General Manager, Michael Candelaria, provided an update on the financial condition of the cooperative and the many technological and regulatory changes the cooperative is facing. Craig Dyk, Mid-Rivers’ Accounting Manager, presented the cooperative’s 2015 audit report.
Todd Erickson, Mid-Rivers Central Office Supervisor from Glendive, was honored with the John Lutter Employee of the Year Award. Mr. Lutter, who retired from Mid-Rivers in 2005 after nearly 34 years of dedicated service, was in attendance to present Erickson with his award. Mid-Rivers members attending the meeting were treated to a barbecue lunch. Door prizes including gift certificates to Lambert businesses and items provided by Mid-Rivers’ vendor KLJ Engineering were handed out during the meeting.
Mid-Rivers continued its commitment to education by awarding 12 $500 scholarships through a drawing of students attending the meeting. These 12 scholarships are offered to any student attending a higher education institution in the fall of 2016, whose parent or guardian is a member of the Cooperative. Through this drawing and the $35,000 in competitive scholarships awarded earlier in the year, Mid-Rivers was able to contribute to the educational futures of 47 students from 19 communities. Winners of the 2016 scholarship drawing were Marlee Zentner, Sidney; Jacob Rosaaen, Lambert; Katie Rice, Glendive; Abby Rice, Glendive; Hailey Steinbeisser, Sidney; John Helmuth, Lambert; Téa Thiessen, Lambert; Chase Breitbach, Circle; Brandon Moore, Sidney; Jewel Gentry, Glendive; Ashton Handy, Poplar; and Tyrel Huseby, Fallon. Mid-Rivers Higher Education Scholarships are funded by unclaimed capital credits. Montana Law requires that after five years, capital credit payments that remain unclaimed be placed into a fund for educational use. Mid-Rivers has chosen to use these funds for scholarships and educational grants to members.
At the Board of Trustees’ organizational meeting held after the Annual Meeting, Craig Johnson was re-elected as Mid-Rivers’ president, Dennis Green was re-elected vice president, and Gene Engen was re-elected secretary-treasurer.



Where is your favorite place to go camping in Central Montana?